Westlake Village

As Californians are aware, some parts of the state are facing greater levels of drought severity than others. To ensure that it can maintain a flow of water to its residential and business customers, California Water Service follows a set of drought severity stages to determine the level of its conservation and assess potential water-use restrictions.

The stages of drought are as follows: 

When Stage 1 drought conditions are declared, we implement policies and guidelines for reducing water usage by 10 percent. During Stage 1, residential and business customers are subject to water use restrictions, including limiting landscape irrigation times, mandating repairs of leaks in a timely manner, and requiring shut-off nozzles to wash a car.

During Stage 1, violators are subject to the installation of water measurement devices and fines of up to $50 for subsequent violations. Egregious violators will be subject to the installation of a flow-restricting device.

Drought Stages | Discover the Stages of Drought
Drought Stages

How drought conditions vary

How to Save Water | Find Conservation Tips
How to Save Water

Small steps make a difference

Water Dos and Don’ts | Learn About Water Rules
Water Dos and Don’ts

What’s allowed and what’s not

Sign up now to get important updates about your community

For information and options related to how Cal Water uses your personal information, please see our Privacy Policy and this page: DO NOT SELL MY INFORMATION